A book a week or almost

159/365: Books

For the past 6 months, I have been working with a coach and in one of our last sessions, she asked me to think about the one thing that I could do on a daily basis, that could significantly improve myself and that would come at a minimal cost. I had to find what is the one thing that I could easily incorporate in my daily routine, that I could complete in an hour or less and that could make me a better person.

Just hearing the question was enough to send me in the right direction, I knew this was going to be a good thing.

Jim Kwik

As soon as I began to think about it, I remembered a video I saw of Jim Kwik (If you don’t know who he is, look him up on the old Google, he’s an interesting guy). In the video, he gives a couple of tips on how to read a book a week and why everyone should read more. Now I’m not too much into the quick reading classes but what he said in that video resonated with me at the time. I mean, when you think about it, the most powerful tool a person possesses is his mind, because it is through it that you can leverage your desire and your will to accomplish great things.

So that’s how it started 

So I decided that my thing was going to be reading. I started to incorporate reading as a daily activity. I was under the impression that my days were filled to the brim and that I couldn’t possibly add more, but after cutting down on less profitable activities like TV for instance, I was able to find from 30 minutes to an hour that I could devote to reading interesting books. For an average reader like myself, that is more than enough to finish a 300 pages book in 2 weeks.

The result

Now, unlike Jim Kwik, I can’t read a book a week, maybe someday I will but for now, I’m focusing on keeping that great habit and I’m seriously enjoying it. So far, in the last 7 weeks I have read these books:

  • “Agile Samurai” – Jonathan Rasmusson
  • “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People” – Stephen R. Covey
  • “The Lean Startup” – Eric Ries
  • “Give and Take” – Adam Grant

I only read books that can help me in my professional life and preferably my personal life as well and throughout those 7 weeks, each one of these books helped me improve and challenge myself in those areas.

What a great advice you gave me Claire, thanks!

2 thoughts on “A book a week or almost

  1. Good Job buddy! Jim Kwik is awesome! In all the books that I’ve read in the past… one remain the reason I keep reading today “Les Chemins de la richesse” from Napoleon Hill. Actually, any books from Napoleon Hill is a must.

    Keep going!

Leave a Reply

